New Louisiana Child Safety Seat Laws Coming in August 2019

July 29, 2019

Buckle up the kids! There are new child safety seat laws that will be changing in August 2019.

Here are the new rules according to Louisiana State Bill 76:

  • Children under the age of 2 years will be restrained in a rear facing child safety seat.
  • A child who is at least 2 years old and has outgrown the rear facing seat will be restrained in a forward facing restraint system with a internal harness.
  • A 4 year old child who has outgrown the forward facing, internal harness system shall be restrained in a belt positioning child booster seat.
  • At nine years old children who have outgrown the booster seat may use the adult safety belt fastened correctly.
  • Children younger than 13 must be in the rear seat of a vehicle when available and properly restrained.

 

These are the Louisiana Safety Seat Laws as of now:

  • Birth to at least 1 year OR Less than 20 pounds – Rear-facing infant or convertible seat rear-facing.
  • 1 year old to 4 years old OR  20 to 40 pounds – Forward-facing in a convertible or combination seat (used with the internal harness).
  • 4 years old to 6 years old AND 40 to 60 pounds – Belt-positioning booster seat (backless or high-backed).
  • 6 years old AND more than 60 pounds – In the backseat using the vehicle lap-shoulder belt or belt-positioning booster seat.
  • Under 12 years old – Ride in the back seat of the car, if rear seats are available.