Queen Announces New Tour As 'Bohemian Rhapsody' Becomes The Biggest Music Biopic Ever

Brian May and Roger Taylor are returning to the road with Adam Lambert

December 3, 2018
Queen

Jeff Spicer / Stringer

They are the champions, of the box office.

After a fifth week in theaters and another 8 million dollars, Bohemian Rhapsody is now the biggest music biopic ever. Two weeks after topping Walk The Line, the story of Freddie Mercury and the rise of Queen has stepped ahead of Straight Outta Compton to claim the top spot as the highest-grossing music biopic of all time. After initial directorial issues and bad reviews, the film has been celebrated by music fans and praised for Rami Malek's performance as the captivating but troubled frontman. Overall the film has made 539 million dollars worldwide, with 164 million domestically being just enough to knock the N.W.A. origin story from the number one position.

With that success, it only makes sense that the show must go on.

Monday morning, Queen announced that they will return to the road for a US tour in 2019, as original members Brian May and Roger Taylor will once again team up with Adam Lambert for a brand new "larger-than-life production."

“This is a great opportunity. Our last tour featured our most ambitious production ever, and got us our best notices ever. So we decided to rip it apart and get even more ambitious" explains guitarist Brian May in a press release. "Watch out, America!"

The Rhapsody Tour kicks off in July of 2019, and is said to feature a "stage show as experimental and rule-defying as the hit-packed Queen back catalog."

Tickets go on-sale Friday. You can find the full list of dates below.

  • Wed Jul 10 Vancouver, BC - Rogers Arena
  • Fri Jul 12 - Tacoma, WA - Tacoma Dome
  • Sun Jul 14 - San Jose, CA - SAP Center
  • Tue Jul 16 - Phoenix, AZ - Talking Stick Resort Arena
  • Fri Jul 19 - Los Angeles, CA - The Forum
  • Tue Jul 23 - Dallas, TX - American Airlines Center
  • Wed Jul 24 - Houston, TX - Toyota Center
  • Sat Jul 27 - Detroit, MI - Little Caesars Arena
  • Sun Jul 28 - Toronto, ON - Scotiabank Arena
  • Tue Jul 30 - Washington, DC - Capital One Arena
  • Wed Jul 31 - Pittsburgh, PA - PPG Paints Arena
  • Sat Aug 03 - Philadelphia, PA - Wells Fargo Center
  • Sun Aug 04 - Boston, MA - Xfinity Center
  • Tue Aug 06 - New York, NY - Madison Square Garden
  • Fri Aug 09 - Chicago, IL - United Center
  • Sat Aug 10 - St. Paul, MN - Xcel Energy Center
  • Tue Aug 13 - Columbus, OH - Nationwide Arena
  • Thu Aug 15 - Nashville, TN - Bridgestone Arena
  • Sat Aug 17 - Ft. Lauderdale, FL - BB&T Center
  • Sun Aug 18 - Tampa, FL - Amalie Arena
  • Tue Aug 20 - New Orleans, LA - Smoothie King Center
  • Thu Aug 22 - Atlanta, GA - State Farm Arena
  • Fri Aug 23 - Charlotte, NC - Spectrum Center

 

Related: "Bohemian Rhapsody" Makes History On 'Billboard' Chart